The annual ScienceWriters meeting is a joint meeting of the National Association of Science Writers and the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing. A mix of professional development workshops, briefings on the latest scientific research, extensive networking opportunities, and field trips, it is a meeting for science writers, by science writers, with content to appeal to both the newest writers and seasoned professionals. The location varies each year based on the host institution, providing access to science writers in all parts of the United States.

In 2012, we are meeting the Research Triangle of North Carolina, October 26-30. Mark your calendars and plan to stay and extra day or two to take it all in.

Here's a welcome from the team in North Carolina

For a full schedule and program listing, visit the Schedule page.

With a major research university at each apex and the Research Triangle Park at its heart, the Research Triangle's story isn't so much about this university, that federal lab or those private-sector R&D giants. It's about what happens when all of these elements are brought together in an area that's only 30 miles across. The Triangle is a region of nearly 2 million people where the principal industries are R&D and education, housing is relatively affordable and the sun shines 213 days a year. That adds up to lots of smart people and all the good things that come with them, like entrepreneurship, positive energy, great restaurants, and of course Science Writers!

Your hosts have pooled more than three times the usual amount of talent and resources to bring you ScienceWriters2012. We want to send you home with as many story ideas as your mind and notebook can carry. During your visit, expect highs in the 70s and lows around 50. If you're planning a side trip -- and why not? -- expect it to be cooler in the mountains and warmer on the coast.

Are you coming?! tweet #SciWri12

Local Contacts:
Your Triangle hosts encourage you to schedule an extra day before or after the conference if there are scientists here you've always wanted to meet. Contact us to see if we can set something up!

Duke University - Karl Bates, Research Communications. karl.bates@duke.edu, (919) 681-8054
NC A&T State University - David Arneke, Research Communications. Drarneke@ncat.edu, (336) 334-7995
NC Central University - Rob Waters, Communications. rlwaters@nccu.edu, (919) 530-5297
NC State University - Matt Shipman, News Services. matt_shipman@ncsu.edu, (919) 515-6386
RTI International - Lisa Bistreich, Communications. lbistreich@rti.org, (919) 316-3596
UNC-Chapel Hill - Thania Benios, thania_benios@unc.edu, (919) 962-8596
UNC Charlotte - James Hathaway, Research Communications. mjbhathaw@uncc.edu, (704) 687-5743
US EPA - Ann Brown, National Research Programs. brown.ann@epa.gov, (919) 541-7818
NIEHS/NIH - Robin Mackar, Communications and Public Liaison. rmackar@niehs.nih.gov, (919) 541-0073


See the Frequently Asked Questions page for more information.